Image No. 98 thru 101 – Giving Thanks

TRIP POST

“Sometimes I arrive just when God’s ready to have someone click the shutter.”

Ansel Adams

 

Clearing Storm - Cape Royal - Grand Canyon NP, AZ

Image No. 98 – Clearing Storm – Cape Royal – Grand Canyon NP, AZ  © jj raia

There were so many reasons for which to be thankful on this trip. In fact on the last day when I was completely alone at Shoshone Point, after having witnessed a wonderful sunrise overlooking the Grand Canyon, I lingered a bit before hiking back to give thanks for being privileged to be there, for having the opportunity to experience all that I had and for the trip’s safe conclusion without mishap, injury or illness.
But first and foremost I am thankful for the good fortune to have met my wife over 37 years ago and her generosity to encourage me to go on this adventure. “The Gift of Time” has always been a phrase we have used in our family for years, but this was a gift beyond all others. It was truly a selfless act stemming from the kindness I saw in her the very first day we met. I will always be thankful for having met her, and to her for this extraordinary gift…it will be treasured forever.

 

Image No.99 – Dawn Light – Cape Royal – Grand Canyon NP, AZ  © jj raia

I have always felt that there was some Divine Intervention at play during the trip and on many occasions found my self giving thanks for being where I was at that moment to witness an extraordinary sunrise or sunset and to be there to “click the shutter”. There had to be some guidance moving me along on the path I took, especially the north rim of the Grand Canyon when all indicators pointed to not go there. And it was more than just coincidence that I met so many wonderful and friendly people. I have given thanks then and I continue today.
But every day is a gift which should always be treasured and for which we should be thankful.
Happy Thanksgiving !!

Dawn from Cape Royal - Grand Canyon NP, AZ

Image No. 100 – Mt. Humphreys from Cape Royal at Dawn – Grand Canyon NP, AZ  © jj raia

 

Clearing Storm - Cape Royal, Grand Canyon, AZ

Image No. 101 – Clearing Storm – Cape Royal, Grand Canyon, AZ  © jj raia

note: all photographs from the trip also reside now in the “trip shots” menu

Leave a Reply

