Image No. 93 thru No. 97 – A Hint of People

TRIP POST

 

 

City Lights at Dawn - Colorado NM, CO

Image No. 93 –  City Lights at Dawn – Colorado NM, CO. © jj raia

Since I have always centered my photography around the landscape, it should come as no surprise that generally, people do not appear in my images. In fact, I usually try not to include anything that shows the influence of man. No roads, no fences, no buildings, no farms. When I was doing most of my work shooting in New Jersey, that turned out to be a difficult proposition, especially around dawn or sunset when street lights were on and Photoshop hadn’t been invented yet. At other times, I had to clean up areas to eliminate beer cans, soda bottles or cigarette butts from a scene, even going so far as fishing a car tire from a lake so it wouldn’t appear within the frame. But when I unexpectedly came upon Cisco, the abandoned town, I got sucked in immediately and had to record it in some way. Another time, Denis knew of a small cabin and we stopped there for him to photograph it, but when he saw I didn’t take out my camera, he insisted I photograph it because it was so beautiful (which it was) surrounded by snow covered aspens and mountains. And so I did. At Cape Royal in the Grand Canyon, when my sunrise solitude was broken by a young couple who came just after sunrise and sat in front of me to gaze into that amazing view, I had to trip the shutter to include them. It was a classic Kodak landscape right down to the red jacket.

Aspens and Fence  © jj raia

Aspens and Fence © jj raia

So on this trip, I stretched out a bit from my normal routines and tried some light painting during long exposures of the Milky Way, tried motion blurs of aspens, photographed old buildings and, on rare occasions, actually included people, or at least a hint of them.

 

Hiker - Bryce Canyon NP, UT

Image No. 94 – Hiker – Bryce Canyon NP, UT © jj raia

Cape Royal, Grand Canyon NP, AZ

Image No. 95 – Cape Royal, Grand Canyon NP, AZ  © jj raia

Autumn Frosting - Uncompahgre National Forest, CO

Image No. 97 – Autumn Frosting – Uncompahgre National Forest, CO  © jj raia

Window - Cisco, UT

Image No. 96 – Window – Cisco, UT  © jj raia

 

Leave a Reply

