Image No. 20

TRIP POST
SIlver Jack  Reservoir - Uncompahgre National Forest

Image No. 20 – Silver Jack Reservoir – Uncompahgre National Forest  © jj raia

Image No. 20
When we left Lost Lake, Denis wanted to go over Owl Pass (another dirt road of about 30 miles) to a place he had been to on a previous trip and said he had never seen it photographed before. I had this road in my notes, so again because I didn’t feel the pressure of time, I was up for a new itinerary. So off we went, driving through some rainy spots, but mostly cloudy the whole way. When we finally found Silver Jack Reservoir, it was near dark and there was nothing to do but have dinner (Ramen Noodles again) and sit in the car. When I finally did climb into the sleeping bag, things did not look good for a noteworthy sunrise. During the night I would wake up and look out the window and not see any stars and felt it may be another bust, but in the morning when Denis knocked on the window, I realized it had snowed overnight and it had cleared!! And we only had to walk a few hundred feet to a fantastic overlook which we had to ourselves instead of sharing shoulder to shoulder with a hundred others. It was a great view of an aspen covered mountain frosted with snow beautifully side lit.  However, it was pretty cold!! But I stayed until sunlight finally reached the bottom of the mountain before I headed back to the car. I was a bit apprehensive to continue over Owl Pass with snow on the ground and only two-wheel drive, but I made it without too many problems and did manage a little shot of aspen leaves on the fresh snow at one of the spots we stopped at along the way. We finally reached Ridgeway later where we had lunch and i recharged my camera batteries.

Aspen Leaves and Snow - Uncompahgre National Forest, CO

Aspen Leaves and Snow – Uncompahgre National Forest, CO  © jj raia

Leave a Reply

